Snowflake bookmark pattern

I was thinking of sharing this anyway but as I have been asked about it, here is the details of how to make a snowflake bookmark.

0219-snowflakebookmark

Firstly the basic snowflake pattern that is a more lacey version of the second of my ‘Easy Real Snowflakes’.

Snowflake 2

Pattern (UK version )

I like to start with a Magic circle but you could use a six chain loop – work 6ch, ss into first chain. There is supposed to be a hole in the centre.

Round 1: 5ch (=1st tr + 2ch) then (2tr, 2ch) five times, 1tr, ss into 3rd ch at start.

Round 2: ss into gap, 6ch (=1st tr + 3ch) then 1tr into same gap, 2ch. Work into each of

following five gaps (tr, 3ch, tr, 2ch), ss into 3rd ch at start.

Round 3: Working all slip stitches into the gap below the 3ch of previous row.

ss, 5ch, ss, 7ch, ss, 5ch, ss,  then dc into tr of previous row, 2dc into gap below 2ch of previous row, dc into tr. Repeat all of this five times. No need to join, just sew in end.

Pattern (US version)

I like to start with a Magic circle but you could use a six chain loop – work 6ch, ss into first chain. There is supposed to be a hole in the centre.

Round 1: 5ch (=1st dc + 2ch) then (2dc, 2ch) five times, 1dc, ss into 3rd ch at start.

Round 2: ss into gap, 6ch (=1st dc + 3ch) then 1dc into same gap, 2ch. Work into each of

following five gaps (dc, 3ch, dc, 2ch), ss into 3rd ch at start.

Round 3: Working all slip stitches into the gap below the 3ch of previous row.

ss, 5ch, ss, 7ch, ss, 5ch, ss,  then sc into dc of previous row, 2sc into gap below 2ch of previous row, sc into dc. Repeat all of this five times. No need to join, just sew in end.

Here is a chart

0223-newsnowflakechart

Now for the

Bookmark

For my bookmark I used #10 crochet cotton and a 1.25mm hook. but you could make a daintier bookmark with #20 cotton and a smaller hook if you preferred

For the bookmark make one snowflake as above, then make another snowflake but on round 3 when working the trefoil loops into the last two gaps make a ss into the loops of the previous snowflake where they will touch, as shown in the chart below by the stars.

Joining chart

0223-snowflakebookmarkjoiningchart

Repeat this three times so you have four snowflakes joined together, then spray with spray starch and iron to stiffen or use other preferred stiffening method.

Take seven strands of cotton 9ins (22cm) long fold in half and working from the back of the bookmark, insert large hook into bottom gap, pull through the central loop and thread ends through to make a long tassel.

*****     *****     *****     *****     *****

I hope that this is clear but if not just let me know by adding a comment below.

15 thoughts on “Snowflake bookmark pattern

  1. Your snowflakes are lovely and I want to make them right now. The blue and white together gives them a beautiful icy quality. Thanks for sharing the pattern as well.
    I’ll be sitting down with a nice cup of tea and reading some of your previous posts – so glad to have found your blog.

    Like

    1. I have a drawing program called ‘Corel Draw’ and I create the basic shapes for trebles, dcs etc. in the ‘draw’ part. Then I combine them into subgroups, depending on the pattern and for the snowflake. for instance, I could copy and paste then rotate the parts through 60deg 120deg etc. Allowing me to fit them together not perfectly but good enough. I can re-use bits from previous charts if I wish to save time. Finally I can export them as jpg files and finalise the look in the ‘paint’ part of the program. The snowflake chart wasn’t too difficult but I did find making the chart for my ‘granny ripple’ was much harder, as you can see if you look at it, as it is much more uneven.

      Like

  2. Thank you for the lovely bookmark. I am keen to try it. Your explanations & diagram are so clear. Afraid I am a little confused about the joining bit. Did you join the snowflakes while crocheting the trefoil loops or did you join them after completing the snowflake?

    Like

I'd love to hear from you

