My Rainbow Garden – Orange

I don’t actually have many orange flowers in my garden as it isn’t one of my favourite colours but I do love marigolds and monbretia so I have both of those.

Here is the monbretia

0188-monbretiaside

And a close up of one of the flowers.

0188-monbretiaclose

The monbretia has been there a long time. I think I may have brought it with me from my previous house.

Marigolds however are annuals and the first time I tried to plant them, a few years ago, the slugs ate up the seedlings before they had hardly come through but about eighteen months ago I tried again.

0188-marigold

This time I had lots (some yellow which I will show you in a later post) .

One time I was out there and I found a fly resting inside.

0188-fly

And a close up –

0188-flyclose

Another time it was a moth

0188-marigoldmoth

Look at the delicate colouring

0188-moth

This year I didn’t plant any but they have seeded themselve and come up between the paving slabs.

flowerinpaving

11 comments

  1. I am very partial to flowers that seed themselves and grow in the gap between paving stones! That’s just the kind of tough, self-sufficient plant that does well in my garden. The others kind of shrivel and die…. !!!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.