Just a bit of fun!

Well here is my finished Buff®.

It is maybe just a little short of the standard 18″ but not by much and the knitting is fairly stretchy of course anyway.
0139-finishedbuff

The whole point of the thing is that you can wear it in a whole variety of ways.

Now the ones you can buy are made of a lightweight fabric that makes it more versatile but not as cosy if you are using it as a hat or scarf.

Because this is knitted I think I would have difficulty using it as a hairband, wristlet or scrunchy but you can just about wear it as a decorative neckerchief.

0139-neckerchief

Sorry! this means lots not especially good pictures of me. I took them with my phone as that seemed the easiest way as the phone lets you take self-portraits.

However more usefully it is good as a cosy scarf

0139-scarf
and you could even wear it as a mask for the odd robbery! or to shield you from traffic fumes.

0139-mask

You can also use it as a balaclava
0139-balaclava

This is similar to my original scarf/hat tube thingy which gave me the idea of making the buff in the first place as it is the same basic knitting pattern.

And with a twist in the middle it is a cosy woollen cap.

0139-cap

If you prefer you could choose the pirate style cap.

0139-pirate

or with a flap down the back

0139-anotherhat

As you can see these last two were the hardest to photograph.

And though I can’t quite see the point of wearing it like this, you could wear it ‘sweatband’ style.

0139-sweatband

My jumper, by the way, is purple not blue.

I do actually think that it will be handy as a scarf when you want something round your neck but without the ends and to wear as a balaclava or cap.

What do you think?

14 thoughts on “Just a bit of fun!

  1. I think this is flippin’ marvellous – the balaclava look is rather fetching, but its the mask option that did it for me! Pair it with some big sungogs and it would be the perfect disguise – for those days when you don’t want anyone to notice you. ❤

    Like

  2. Thank you so much! I was introduced to Buffs as a head cover option since losing my hair due to chemo this summer. I have some for the summer and wondered about a knitting pattern to make some for colder days and found your post. I plan to make some for myself and donate others. Thanks again!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you

