A Feline and Flowers

Firstly, I have to admit that I allowed myself a naughty two days off from making my flower cloth and socks to make this:-

I found the pattern at The Green Dragonfly’s blog HERE (isn’t her cat delightful!)
and because she has seven different coloured stripes of course I couldn’t resist making it into a RAINBOW cat.

My younger daughter is especially fond of cats so I have made it for her as an un-birthday present and I will take it round later today. (She doesn’t read the blog).

I have also had a lovely day out visiting Mottisfont Abbey. Yes, it was an abbey originally but was made into a family home and is now owned by the National Trust and open to the public.

I caught the train and then walked across the fields.
There was a cow field,
then a wheat field,

then a hayfield

and in spite of all the rain we have had none of the paths were muddy.

*********************************

There is lots to do at Mottisfont Abbey.

There is the house

that has been kept as it was earlier last century.

There are also displays, including one I wasn’t allowed to photograph: called “High Tea”, that consited of sandwiches, scones and cakes all either knitted or made out of fabric. Great fun!

There are  grounds with statuary

also all sorts of trees and a stream

and sheep in a fenced off field.

You can even go in and get up close if you wish!

I had taken my grandaughter here last summer in August when they had a special fairy themed exploration challenge but the roses were over then, so now above all I went to see their walled rose gardens in all their glory.

There are rose arches

and people enjoying the gardens

and a fountain

(I usually make the pictures just the right size for the blog but all the photos below will enlarge if you click on them so you can get a closer look)

some wilder looking plantings,

But above all

ROSES

Aren’t they beautiful?

But I think these are my favourites.

And I even mange to get a few photographs of bees.

I hope you enjoyed sharing my day with me.

6 comments

  1. What a super cute cat!! 😀
    The abbey is amazing. Shame you couldn’t photograph the yarny high tea, it would be just right for us yarnaholics 🙂 Those roses are indeed gorgeous, I hope they smelt just as good. Nice bee shots too. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear from you

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.