A Better Bookmark

Those of you who have been following me for a while will know that I wasn’t entirely happy with my Celtic bookmark because it was quite large and a bit thick. I posted the pattern but then, using the bookmark in one of the larger hardback books I have been borrowing from the library lately, I realised that I had left something out of the pattern!! so removed it.

However more recently I realised that if I made the bookmark in #20 cotton it would be smaller and thinner. new and previous bookmarksThis is why I bought the cotton thread I showed you here. recent yarn purchasesI used the cream #20 thread and some red that I had already to make another bookmark and being very happy with it have published the pattern in my Ravelry store – http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/celtic-bookmark-2 – Getting it right this time!

Here are the two bookmarks compared with others. bookmark comparison

In #20 cotton thread this makes a bookmark approximately 5.5 inches by 1 inch (14ch x 2.5cm). I think this is the best size and thickness for a bookmark

in #10 cotton thread the bookmark is 7 inches by 1.5 inches. (18cm x 4cm). This is fairly thick but useable in larger books as I have found.

As you can see here.

larger bookmark in large bookand the new one in a smaller book. new bookmark in paperback book

inside the same paperback library book. new bookmark on paperback bookSo what do you think?

15 thoughts on “A Better Bookmark

    1. 🙂 Yes that is a snag. I mostly get my books from the library these days but they do electronic books too now. I do like the feel of a ‘real’ book though but Kindles are useful for saving weight and space!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes for bookmarks. I’ve got schweepjeswol Maxi which is weight 5 cotton and really thin, it’s also mercerised so has a nice sheen. I think DMC do a range similar too… I’ve got 100g balls and you’d get many, many bookmarks from it!!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Yes, but I was using #20 cotton thread for my best version of the bookmark. With my pattern in #5 cotton the bookmark would come out longer and thicker than the sizes I describe.

          Like

          1. Sorry sent too soon…my weight is lace – I was trying to decifer a label written in Danish and thought they must have a different way of measuring thickness. Have fun making.

            Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you

