Just a bit of fun – but useful!

I have always thought of ‘pot holders’ as American as we have oven gloves in this country but I saw this fascinating pattern for a pot holder and I thought that it might just be handy.

My saucepans have metal curved handles and they are great saucepans but sometimes the handle does get too hot to hold with bare hands and I have to grab a dish cloth or tea towel to protect my fingers.

So I took some of the spare cotton I had bought to make the bath puffs and made one.

Pot holder fnishedThe thing that totally charmed me was what you did next which was to fold the sides over to get this. pot holder foldedSewing up was easy. pot holder sewn upHere is the other side. other side of pot holderI wondered if it would be big enough but thought if it wasn’t maybe it could be used as a coaster. pot holder next to coasterand I could make a bigger one

but it works fine! pot holder in use

10 thoughts on “Just a bit of fun – but useful!

    1. Of course the great thing about the pattern is that it can be made as large as you want. All you have to do is have more chains at the start. If I made another I would probably make it a bit bigger.

      Like

I'd love to hear from you

