Recent makes and WIPs

I have been working on quite a few odds and ends before and after my holiday, apart from the coasters I showed you recently.

I thought that it seemed a shame to waste the place mat I had made just to show it could be done,Placemat and coasterand I remembered that I had a cushion that could do with a new cover. Old cushion coverSo I worked out a way to make a surround and thought I could turn the placemat into a cushion cover. Half a cushion coverThe only question was what should I do for the other side? I found a pattern for a Celtic style weave using front post and back post crochet stitches but didn’t really enjoy working it and thought it was a bit too holey, so I am not sure what to do for the reverse.

Until I do this will remain a WIP.

I have a local crafting friend who has been making some of my cross and angel bookmarks to give to children who are about to be baptised. She said that she had worked the angel one in #20 thread. Now I have always made the angels in #10 thread so I thought here was an interesting challenge. Could I see well enough to make the angel in #20 thread? The only thread I had enough of was my Anchor Artiste multicolour one. After the first row or two I found it easier than I expected! Crochet angelOf course this is larger than life size. (Unless it is on a small screen!)

I have also been making a couple of cross bookmarks, to maybe give away some time. Cross bookmarkThis one is finished, though neither the cross or angel has been stiffened and ironed yet.

I have also gone back to working on my sea-and-sand blanket that has been a bit neglected of late. I feel I am on the home straight now as I am working the last repeat of the colours.

 

6 thoughts on “Recent makes and WIPs

    1. Yes that might be possible. I was also wondering as I sat on the bus today if I could just make the back out of a piece of material. I have some nice blue velvet my mother gave me that I have never used.

      Like

      1. Now that sounds a really good idea, and if you wanted a complementary one , you could go for the celtic cross. Then sell the patterns to make up for all those rotters who tried passing your work as theirs.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Well all the ones I’ve found didn’t exactly pass my work off as there’s because they did add a link to my blog. But that doesn’t mean they should have done it without asking. However I am now selling my best patterns and I am thus benefitting from people taking my pictures because it prompts people to come and see so I’m feeling more sanguine about it!

          Like

I'd love to hear from you

