A Dorset Adventure in Five parts – Day two

Last summer when I went to Weymouth with my granddaughter, Sandra of Wild Daffodil and I had arranged to meet, however circumstance intervened, but now I was coming back to Dorset we had another try and this time succeeded.

Sandra very kindly offered to pick me up in her car and take me to somewhere that would be harder to get to by bus (I do not have a car myself) and I suggested Ringstead Beach. Ringstead beachI realised afterwards that I should have taken more photographs, including one of us together but we were so busy getting to know each other and swopping stories of our creative journeys that there wasn’t much time for photographs.

I thought that it would be a good idea to bring a gift in return for her transporting me and I made two of my Celtic Coasters specially for her  Two gift coastersand also offered her a choice of two of my new design. Four new coasters in two sizesAs well as the photograph of the beach I also took a picture of this surprisingly large pipe that channels the water of a stream onto the beach. Pipeand on the way back Sandra stopped the car so I could get a good view of the figure of King George III cut into the chalk on the hillside. Figure cut into the chalk

She kindly took me back to Dorchester where I stopped off for some lunch before deciding what to do for the rest of the day. It was really great to meet a fellow blogger and it is a shame we don’t live nearer each other as we seemed to get on well.

I did a little reconnoitering and acquired a couple of bus timetables when I finally found the Tourist Information Centre which had moved and was now in the Library! I also discovered the best place to catch said buses.

I had noticed a sign for Maumbury Rings which were actually within Dorchester itself; so seeking them out seemed a good way to spend the end of the afternoon.

Maumbury Rings goes back to Neolithic times when farmers often build Henges, probably for ceremonial purposes. The Romans turned it into an amphitheatre and it was also used as a camp during the Civil War.

It is even in use for social events today.

Again, like Maiden Castle I wanted to walk all the way round. (Not as far this time!) Maumbury rings(The above photograph was taken when I was half-way round.)

I climbed up on these steps to start to walk around the top of the bank. Way up to top of bankThere is a very wide gap at the entrance and when I reached the other end of the bank I realised that I could see no easy way down, so I decided that the best thing to do was to retrace my steps and come down where I had gone up.

Here you can see that end seen from below. Bank at other endIt looks as if there may have been a second set of steps at one time and the sloping bit looks as if I might be okay to slide down! However it looked a lot steeper from above.

After this I found a seat in the shade and sat for a while. I couldn’t resist taking some photographs of a beautiful perfect daisy I could see beside the seat. Daisy

 

7 thoughts on “A Dorset Adventure in Five parts – Day two

  1. It was so lovely to meet you!! I am completely thrilled with your Celtic Coasters and my family are intrigued to know how they are made – a beautiful gift – thank you!!
    Yes – why didn’t we take photos??!!!! of each other and together etc – next time!
    xx

    Liked by 1 person

        1. Well I did look up the cost of a train from Southampton to Moreton and it seemed much cheaper than going to Dorchester if I got it right! So if we could find the time in our busy lives we might be able to meet up some time because I do like Dorset.

          Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you

