Announcement

Some time ago I noticed that some people had, without asking my permission, posted photographs from my blog on their Pinterest sites. I wasn’t sure whether to be flattered or annoyed but it certainly made me feel uneasy as I had no control over what they were doing.

Later on I found that there were also ‘Free Pattern’ sites that had included some of my more popular patterns. These sites appeared to be supported by advertising and one even was soliciting donations in return for providing links to the patterns! This definitely moved me in the direction of annoyed!

The final straw came though when over the last few weeks I have had hundreds of people visiting my site from Facebook to look at my Celtic Coasters pattern. (I know this is where they are going by the numbers.) This time I don’t even have access to what has brought them here. So annoyed it definitely is.

[As an aside I must say that of course Google also takes photographs off my site and again I wish that I had control over this as Google not only takes all the photographs posted as ‘photographs’ that I see no need for but also photographs of mistakes and problems that make sense in context but I would not want put out there otherwise. Of course there is no way of controlling Google as far as I know.]

I have therefore decided that with my better patterns, the ones that have cost more in time, effort and emotional investment will in future be ‘paid for’ patterns. (Some of my more simple, ‘throw away patterns’ will still be free.)

These may include patterns such as:

 

 

 

African Violets, Angel bookmark, Celtic Coasters, Celtic Crosses, Cross bookmarks, Granny Ripple,

Snowflake cloth

Snowflake bookmark, Snowflake cloth

and probably my Rainbow Mittens even though no one is much interested in that one.

I may also add some more of my patterns to the list but those above are the only ones on Ravelry at present.

 

I have already listed my African Violets, Celtic Coasters and Cross bookmarks for sale on Ravelry and will think about whether to list any others.

Maybe it is sad in some ways that I have felt the need to do this but I cannot control what people do with my photographs but I can at least gain a handle on how many people are interested in my patterns and not just of the “It’s Free. I’ll have half a dozen!” brigade.

 

24 thoughts on “Announcement

  1. That’s awful, how can people be so mean as to pinch pictures. I wouldn’t have a clue how to do that, not being on pininterest etc. You certainly should be charging for that lovely orchid pattern. Good luck.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know I saved the celtic coaster pattern on my pintrest for future reference. Sorry about that. I didn’t know what was happening to you. I have a friend on Etsy that constantly has the same issue with her photos.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well if people asked it would have been better. At least I can see what is on Pinterest but like Google I have seen photos that are of the ‘I tried this and it didn’t work’ variety that I would never have authorised. Still I have now sold one of my patterns! Yay! so this should be quite fun.

      Like

  3. I ‘m a little confused.

    How are Google taking your photos? When a person googles something and does an image search the images they see are linked to the website they come from, this is the whole point of a search engine. If you don’t want to be searchable there is a setting that prevents your blog from being visible to search engines.

    On the Pinterest front, are they copying your pictures or pinning from your blog? this is how Pinterest works, someone pins a photo from a website and it is linked back to the website so that anyone looking at the pin can see the owner of the photo. Some idiots copy and past photos websites but they do that all over the web and they are just idiots. Like Google there is a setting on your blog to stop people pinning your photos but then that would just encourage people to copy rather than pin.

    Why are hundreds of visitors a problem? But if you want to know where they are coming from you can visit your own blog, right click on an image and it gives you the option to”google image search). Most probably someone liked your work and posted a link to show other people.

    I must say it seems that you don’t want people seeing your work.

    The “free pattern” sites are a pain and the bane of every designer’s life, there are millions of posts on Ravelry about it.

    Like

    1. You obviously feel that I should have come down on the ‘flattered’ side of my dilemma! I am not happy to see my photos taken out of context as they are mostly illustrative of the words on my blog. I have never given anyone the ability to ‘pin’ them from my blog. I have always felt that Pinterest was a way of making money out of other people’s work although I am sure that the people who use it enjoy it.
      What I love most about blogging is to have a sense of sharing with the few people whom I interact with through it.

      Like

      1. It’s not that you should be flattered, your photos are not being “taken”, you have posted them on a public forum, members of the public have seen them and liked them, then, under the terms of your blog they have shared your work on Pinterest and Facebook, if you do not want people showing their friends your work then your blog needs to be privet.

        I really am confused, it might help if you explained who your intended audience was. I found your blog by googleing crochet, I liked your work so decided to follow your blog, it is very conceivable that at some point I have shared one of your blog posts to my work Facebook page, this will have then sent more people to look at your blog, if you don’t want people to see, share, and appreciate your work maybe you should look at your privacy setting as currently your blog is publicly accessible.

        Like

          1. Wow! Itchy you are totally right! I came here to say the same thing. OP I don’t know how you think anyone makes money from sharing your work on pintrest, I think you’ve just misunderstood the concept of it, but I’ll leave that for someone else to explain to you. But anyway, I certainly think that it’s a childish move to make your patterns paid for just because you don’t like people linking back to your page. If you’re that desperate to make some money off the blog, I would highly suggest using Google ads. Good luck!

            Like

  4. I don’t blame you, but it is a shame you’ve had to do that. I really ought to use Ravelry more, I’ll keep an eye out for your patterns on there. 😊

    Like

    1. You don’t have to join Ravelry to buy patterns and I have already put a link on the original pattern pages on my blog to the page in Ravelry where you can buy the pattern. I am only charging for anything that I put a lot of work and effort into and am trying to make the charge somehow low but commensurate.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m on Ravelry, I do like to have a look. I could use it much more though! I haven’t written any patterns worth bothering with really, but yours are worth charging for. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m sorry to hear about this situation you are in. I totally support the idea of putting a small charge, even if it is just 1 pound to the pattern you have created (I’m sure it cost more than that.) ‘Cos you’ve taken time and energy to try them out. This is to continue supporting the designers and encourage them to come out with more designers.. hopefully we will all learn from this episode. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I suppose things have just evolved and I have found myself happy to pay a pound or two (or sometimes more) for an app for my phone or tablet so this seems like the next step. I have already sold a few copies of the Celtic Coaster pattern! And yes I have taken a long time to create the pattern and then to turn it into a pdf.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. The below should be taken with the kindness by which it is meant.
    I can see where itchycrochet is coming from. Your designs are obviously incredibly popular. Well done for coming up with such a wonderful pattern.
    Unfortunately the use of social media is an open invite for everyone to share what they like. If people didn’t share what they liked, our followers would remain at just a small number of close family and friends. When someone ‘Pins’ something onto Pinterest it is their way of storing it away for future use, like a library, so they can refer to it again in the future and also for sharing with others what a wonderful thing they have found. Pinning an image doesn’t mean that your then own it. It is just like collecting scraps torn from a magazine to make a story board or scrapbook. Of course if someone claims the image is one of theirs or blatantly copies your pattern onto their site, that is an issue with copyright. And if someone is charging or taking credit for your pattern that is even worse.
    So I don’t think you can be perturbed with ‘Pinterest’ or Google as they are how our followers found us in the first place.
    I would start by adding a ‘watermark’ of your blog name across your images. This way everyone would see that the image is yours unless someone was very determined to get it off. Alternatively use facebook where you can just choose to share with exactly who you like.
    I think charging for your patterns is an excellent way to recoup some of the effort you have put in. Make sure you link your posts to the ravelry site. I can still see your celtic cross pattern on your blog, and your book mark pattern. To generate more sales you need to put those blog pages back up (without the pattern details) and include the link to ravelry.
    That way, everyone will find your patterns.
    If you need some help with watermarks or linking, just give me a shout. I’ve followed you for ages and would love to help. x

    Like

    1. What I wrote was merely expressing my experience and my feelings about it.
      However with all due respect itchycrochet is wrong and you can read here for instance – https://turbofuture.com/internet/how-to-use-pinterest-copyright-legally the ins and outs of copyright on Pinterest. I do not lose my copyright by posting stuff on a blog any more than an author loses copyright by publishing a book for sale in shops.
      As to my photographs I resist putting a watermark on as I think it will spoil the look of the photograph. I only post low res photographs so they have little commercial value in themselves. The people who post them on Pinterest aren’t claiming them as their’s anyway. However it would still be polite to ask if they can use them.
      I have put a link to the appropriate Ravelry page on the original pattern post for every pattern that I have put up there for sale, having removed the pattern details.
      The other patterns are still on my site as I am reluctant to remove them till I have time to create a pdf for Ravelry so I can sell them. I am quite busy this week and each pdf takes quite a while to create to my satisfaction.
      I am answering you at length because I regard you as a friend but I have stopped trying to discuss the matter with itchycrochet as I do not have the time.

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you

