Crochet Seahorses

Recently Wild Daffodil created a crochet pattern for a seahorse, made several and then offered to give some of them away. I entered but was unsuccessful and so decided that I would buy the pattern that she had put up for sale and make one myself.

The first thing I did was copy the text into Word and using ‘find & replace’ changed it from US terms to UK as otherwise I am sure I would have made lots of silly mistakes!

The first one I made was the one I would have liked to win. 0535-aqua-seahorseIt is a very clever pattern but I must admit it made me realise that I am not as good at crochet as I thought I was as I struggled with all those slip stitches, often caught the yarn on the hook and had to redo the head and snout several times.

In my defence though I did realise later that since I crochet tightly I ought to have gone up a hook size from 3mm to 3.5mm and that it would have helped to look at the pictures!

There was a second pattern for a seahorse made in 4ply cotton. Now I didn’t have 4ply cotton but I did have some DK cotton so I decided that I would try that one as well but using the larger hook.0535-pink-seahorseThe tummy and snout are subtly different.

I still found myself struggling a bit but not as badly.

Having compared the two seahorses I decided that I liked the tummy on the cotton one but the snout on the acrylic one, so decided to make a hybrid. 0535-hybrid-seahorseHere you can see all three. 0535-seahorse-familyFinally I had time to make one more (the original in the larger hook for a comparison) but I decided I would be a bit more relaxed this time, not worry so much about making mistakes and see if I could hit the thirty minutes mentioned in the pattern. 0535-blue-seahorseWell I didn’t manage to complete it in thirty minutes but it was under an hour, just! which was less than before. But I think his eye is a bit large which I didn’t notice at the time!

So here are the first and the last. Same pattern but different hook sizes. 0535-seahorse-comparing-sizesAnd here are all four. 0535-all-four-seahorsesI do have plans for these fellows which I will hope to show you eventually, but not before Christmas!

 

13 thoughts on “Crochet Seahorses

  1. They look so good Jane! Each with their own personality. I admit making a seahorse is a fiddle, but a few variations in the stitches along the way don’t seem to matter in the end. I hope the pictures helped – maybe I should add more. Cute result though!

    Like

    1. Well the head was the trickiest and looking at the pictures again I think the last time I did it a bit differently to them but it worked out in the end! But again looking at the pictures are you left handed?

      Like

I'd love to hear from you

