Alpaca cowl

Having made a scarf for my daughter 0502-After ironingfrom some alpaca 4ply wool I had been given, I decided to use the rest to make a small cowl for myself.

Since I would be using circular needles and would be knitting it in many locations, I wanted a pattern that was such that

  1. It was less lacy than the scarf but still with holes.
  2. I didn’t need to look at the pattern
  3. or count rows.
  4. Whenever I put it down I would know where I was.

I couldn’t find anything that I liked that fulfilled the above so I wrote my own.

Rounds:

  1. Knit
  2. Repeat (Yarn over, knit two together) to end
  3. Knit
  4. Purl

Finishing on a 3rd row. Any even number of stitches. I chose 110.

I counted it as a bonus that the holes lined up in a diagonal fashion as that had been one thing I had thought of doing but couldn’t see a way to achieve it without an obvious changeover point.

Here it is finished. 0529-knitted-cowlI realised that although I have seen many cowls like this, that because it was so soft that it tended to fall down so I crocheted in some shir-elastic along the top to help hold it up under my chin.

I thought it would be handy to wear when I didn’t want the extra bulk of a scarf. 0529-cowl-worn

Couldn’t get the colours to look right though! The cowl is more crimson and the cost a deeper pink.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Alpaca cowl

I'd love to hear from you

