Danube Adventure – the food

Now I am not going to give you a blow by blow account of every meal we had, just a bit of a taster!

Breakfast

Breakfast was one of those large buffet affairs. Breakfast There were juices and a variety of cereals and fruit and yogurt and even porridge. The normal butter and jams plus a great variety of cold meats and cheeses to accompany a variety of breads and croissants. There were also small muffins and danish pastries. I am pretty sure there was also the ability to make toast and a variety of normal cooked options though I didn’t bother with those.

Here is a closer look. Breakfast closer look When you sat at your table you would be offered tea or coffee. My daughter, who is used to a large mug of coffee for breakfast got tired of the little cups and bought a very nice mug (no photograph I am afraid) in Ezstergom and thereafter presented it for filling. The waiters seemed to find this amusing.

There was the ability to make tea or coffee in the cabins but we rarely took advantage of this as tea and coffee was so readily available elsewhere.

Lunch

Lunch was also buffet style and was largely in the same place as breakfast, though there was an alternative menu in the little restaurant at the other end of the ship.

There was normally a meat and fish option with vegetables and potatoes or rice and such.

The only lunch I photographed was this porkholt. (You may know it as Hungarian Goulash.) I am especially fond of it and as it is an especially Hungarian dish I thought it warranted a photograph. Porkholt I had it with the vegetable noodles and some salad. There was always a good variety of salad items available.

Tea

There wasn’t an opportunity for tea everyday as it depended on when the outings took place, though I think tea was available for those who chose to stay on the ship.

No photographs but there was always an amazing array of cakes.

Dinner

Dinner was always a multi-course affair with waiter service. This worried me a bit at first as I don’t eat as much these days but the portions were always very modest with plenty of space in-between.

The only time I photographed my meal was when we had the final dinner so I will show you the photographs with a few comments as how this differed on the other days.

Normally, there were two choices for each course with an extra couple of options like chicken or steak and vegetables for the main course.

First let me show you the place setting on our last night. Place setting We were told that we could keep the napkin. The bow is just a paper shape.

For the final night it was a fixed menu.

The first thing that happened always was that you were offered some bread and there was piped butter on the table. Dips for bread Here you can see that there is also some olive oil for dipping and also hummus (I think).

After this there was often a small morsel on a specially bent dessertspoon. I forgot to photograph this.

On this last night it was “Veal Liver Mouselline, Pineapple Compote, Toasted Brioche.”

This was followed by the soup. Soup “Essence de Canarde du Barberie: Consomme of Barberie Duck with Quenelle.”

Fish course: Fish course “Caramelized Scallop, Sweet Pepper Puree, Corn Risotto, Green Asparagus.”

The main course was: “Herb Crusted Rack of Lamb (Pink), Sweet Garlic Rosemary Gravy, Horseradish, Flageolet Beans, Oven Dried Tomatoes, Pommes Dauphine.” Main course You can see I was finding it hard to take photographs before eating by now.

For any vegetarians there was: “Melanzane: Aubegine, Coated Parmesan, Tomato Sauce, Mozzarella.”

The pudding or ‘dessert’ if you prefer was entitled “Lord Byron’s Parade” and was a bit of a mystery until it happenened.

The lights were turned down and all the waiting staff paraded in carrying baked alaskas with fireworks shooting sparks out of the tops.

[There was also a guy with a fire extinguisher!]

At this point it became harder than ever to take any photographs but here is one showing the baked alaska on the side and you can see the fireworks have been removed and placed on a dish.Baked alaska

When the pudding was finally served it looked like this.  And I ate it all, including the ‘Lord Byron’ in chocolate. Helping of pudding I had to increase the ISA rather a lot as you can tell!

The meal finished with tea or coffee, petit fours, though I think I would have called them truffles, and brandy.

While we were on the trip my daughter would always make sure she had done her 10,000 steps and I would join her walking round and round the deck of an evening, to the amusement of the other passengers. It paid off however as I only put on a couple of pounds overall.

There was also a small chocolate on our pillow each evening!

8 thoughts on “Danube Adventure – the food

      1. You are lucky- did you do a tour package like Thomas Cook or did you do it independently ? I am sure the hassle of packing, repacking, moving from hotel to hotel must have been a welcome relief.

        Like

    1. Good report. All the food sounded wonderful and good ideas for a meal at home. My favourite on holiday is the breakfast and all the choices with all day to walk it off!

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you

