Danube Adventure – Esztergom

Writing these posts is a great way of attaching my memories of the correct places.

On Monday morning we awoke in Esztergom having sailed there over night. Still in Hungary, Esztergom was a lovely small city. EsztergomThe weather was very warm and sunny, almost too sunny for photographs and the sun was not always in the right place. Still I have found more than enough of my many photographs that I think are worth sharing.

Things I saw along the way as we walked from the ship.

This statue of Erzsebet (Elizabeth) a popular empress of Austria/Hungary.Elizabeth statueI thought it was a shame about the bird droppings. I also notice it has a palm leaf like the statue in Budapest.

This passageway. ArchesI would have loved to go exploring down to the other end!

These bells. BellsThe main attraction seemed to be the basilica. On the way to the basilicaIt was quite restrained for a baroque church which I liked and I took lots of photographs. Basilica naveI will just share four more.

The painting over the main altar.Painting over main altar According to Wikipedia this painting of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary by Girolamo Michelangelo Grigoletti is the largest painting in the world painted on a single piece of canvas.

I had to take a picture of the St Joseph altar as my parish church is St Joseph’s St Joseph altarThey also had a statue of St Elizabeth of Hungary, my confirmation saint. St Elizabeth of Hungary statueand how could I leave out this magnificent icon of the first king – St Stephen. St Stephen iconAfter this we decided to go up the tower to get a view over the city – many, many steps. Part way up looking back at the river.View through windowThen up at the top. View with towerA lovely clear day.View with towerThe city nestling in the hills.

Back down again and returning to the ship we passed the statue of St Stephen’s coronation. St Stephen coronation statueI hope you enjoyed this small excursion into part of Esztergom.

6 thoughts on “Danube Adventure – Esztergom

I'd love to hear from you

