A beautiful bag

I have just completed the project I started after I had finished the cloth for the dining table. I wanted something that would be easy on my hands and this bag has been on my to-do list for quite some time.Finished bagI have made two bags before.

This one was a present and a trial before making my hexagon blanketShopping bagand this is one that I use for my knitting or crochet projects.Lucy bagFor the first I used a cotton shopping bag from John Lewis as a lining and the second bag had no lining. So this is the first time that I have actually made a bag where I had to make a lining.

This bag was one I first saw made by Jill – https://jillgoldberg19.wordpress.com/2013/02/20/my-big-fat-granny-bag/

The pattern is on Ravelry – http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/29-210-44-striped-bag

Of course with it basically being a granny square with thirty rows. I couldn’t resist the temptation to use my fifteen ‘spectrum colours’, two rows each.

Having recently seen a post by someone saying how they reversed direction every row because it made a granny square square and knowing that if you went round and round it was hard to keep the square square, as when I made the doll blanket.Doll blanketI reversed direction for this even though the chart showed it being made just round and round.

And I was pleased with the result. Here is the granny square.Granny squareThe corners are curling at the top because I finished the square in the early evening and went on to do one of the gathering edges.

And here is the inside. I got the fabric for free one Friday when someone had fabric they wanted to get rid of at the Craft group.Inside bagand another view.Inside of bag other wayI’ve already started on another project but as it will be a present I won’t be able to show you it for quite a while.

 

 

25 thoughts on “A beautiful bag

I'd love to hear from you

