Going for a walk

The other day the weather was so pleasant I thought that I would go for a walk and take my camera.

I wasn’t sure what I would find to photograph because I was going up the road to Southampton Common and I have photographed it so many times before but I hope you enjoy coming with me on my walk and that I can share some different things.

The first thing that caught my eye was this fallen tree trunk snaking along by the side of the path.

Tree trunkI stopped to examine the interesting texture of the knots in the bark.

Tree knot 1

Tree knot 2 I passed by the  The Hawthorns Urban Wildlife Centre and thought I would take a closer look at the gates.

Wildlife Centre gateThey come from a time when the Council seemed to be into naturalistic wrought iron.

There are iron flowers and leaves

Plant on gateand down the bottom some small creatures hiding like this frog.

Frog on gateA bit further on my eye was caught by the sight of this fungus high up on a tree.

Fungus on treeI think the ruffled layers are so pretty.

I had decided that I would make for the cemetery lake.

As I looked over towards it I noticed that the day was a bit misty which I had not realised before.

Misty viewLeanne Cole who has a photographic blog that I follow had been photographing birds lately so I thought I would have a go. The birds of prey and parrots of her Australian Sanctuary were more exotic than those you can find on the Common but I was pleased with this picture of a mallard duck. I wanted to show the wake and ripples.

Mallard duck

and I then turned my attention to the pigeons.

Two pigeons

This chap seemed to be looking at me with interest wondering what I was doing sitting on the ground.Pigeon looking at meI saw a seagull on a post but as soon as I got closer he flew away.

Seagull on postWhere to go now?

As I haven’t been there very often, and it would be something new to photograph, I went to the cemetery.

Yew walkThere is a long yew walk and the graves are off on either side.

As here

Grave stones 1and here

Grave stones 2I really liked this carved headstone.

Carved headstoneAnd thought this would make a lovely picture for an Easter card.

Lying cross

By now I was at a convenient place to head back home so I left and came back along by a path at the edge of the Common.

Return pathI smiled when I saw this happy face someone had drawn on a fallen branch.

Happy face

And finally came out to the usual place.

ExitWhen I got home I took some photographs of the flowers I had been given for Mother’s Day.

I thought I had agreed with my son that we wouldn’t bother with ‘Mother’s Day’ this year and I thought my eldest wasn’t bothering either which was fine as I was brought up to ignore it.

However in the afternoon I was just about to make myself a cup of tea when there was a knock at the door and in came my son with a card and a present and behind him my eldest daughter with a card and a big bunch of flowers and my granddaughter with a tin of coconut flapjacks that she had made. And very delicious flapjacks they were too. Not hard and crumbly like mine go. I have been promised the recipe!

I shared the flowers between two vases.

One in the sitting room

Flowers in sitting roomAnd one in the kitchen

Flowers in kitchenAs you can see I am not into ‘flower arranging’ but they make me happy every time I look at them.

What have you been doing lately?

13 thoughts on “Going for a walk

  1. I loved going for a walk with you today. So amazing how beautiful things are when you really look at them. The daffodils were a great bonus, such an amazing flower. Let’s do it again real soon.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you

