2014 retrospective montage

A Happy New Year to you all!

This year I have decided that I need to use two montages to cover all the knitting and crochet I have done this past year.

The first montage comprises all the items I have made for myself.

I made knitted roses for the mantlepiece and then a crochet cactus for the kitchen windowsill. Later I made some African Violets, also for the kitchen windowsill. This time I created the pattern myself and even wrote a tutorial so other people could make them too and someone over on Ravelry has done just that and I have a photograph from someone else who made a potfull that I have yet to show you. Both of which I found very gratifying. I have also created a pattern for some crochet orchids but I have yet to turn that into a spray of orchids, again for the kitchen windowsill, to make me smile while doing the washing-up.

I made three pairs of socks (and actually I have made a fourth pair but have yet to share them with you.) I also made a pair of crochet slipper “sock savers” to keep the socks clean when I need to take my shoes off.

montage2014-forme

Having been given four balls ofย  mohair yarn I found a pattern that needed just that amount and was so delighted with the resulting garment that I made the same shape again but this time in crochet. I also knitted a “Miette” cardigan that seemed so popular with people on Ravelry and was pleased with the result. The last clothing items I made were a “Bonbon” hat and a matching pair of mittens. These have proved very popular as they are warm enough, except in the coldest weather, and just so easy to put on.

Apart from the above, I made a cushion cover with the yarn left over from my spectrum blanket, a rainbow set of butterflies to add to my crochet eggs for my Easter tree, a stained glass window style mat that I may revisit in future and this red version of last years Christmas bauble. I have actually now made a whole rainbow collection of these baubles but have not yet combined them into a hanging decoration.

NOW

I was also surprised to find how many items I made to give away and rather than have tiny pictures in my montage have created a separate montage for these things.

The first, is a scarf that I made as a present for last Christmas, followed by some hexagons I made for a co-operative blanket project. Below the hexagons is a cowl that was requested by a women I know.

Later I made a doll for my grandson and as you see below that some star bunting for my eldest daughter’s birthday.

The snake was made for my granddaughter and the ripple blanket for my younger daughter.

I made a pot of my African Violets as a prize for the “Made It challenge”. I was very pleased to find that I got the most votes in September for this challenge with my ripple blanket.

montage2014-giving

The cross bookmarks were made to be sold at chuch for parish funds and the snowflake bookmark was made for a bookmark swop.

Last but not least the coasters were my ‘little something to unwrap’ for my eldest and her husband.

6 thoughts on “2014 retrospective montage

I'd love to hear from you

