Christmas Coasters

I hope you all had a Happy Christmas and are now looking forward to the New Year.

So while we wait here is something I couldn’t show you before.

These I days I give my children money for Christmas and birthdays with maybe a little something to open. Last year I made my daughters and their husbands crochet key rings. This year however I only made one Christmas present: a joint one for my eldest and her husband.

Some Christmas coasters.

Finished coasters

The gold shape in the centre was not part of the present I just put it there to add to the picture.

I took the patterns out of my 100 snowflake book.

Snowflake book

I started my making no. 100 in silver because it seemed a good size and shape for a coaster. I then made no. 98 in gold, didn’t like it very much because the holes were to big and made no. 97 instead. The snowflakes at the end of the book are larger than those at the beginning.

I chose no.97 because it looked as much like a star as a snowflake. So I saw the present as comprising six stars and six snowflakes.

Finished snowflakes

[Having experimented with stiffening this sort if thread with PVA glue and spray starch. I decided the glue made them just too stiff and used the starch.]

So now I had my coasters but I realised that as they were they were neither very heat proof or drip proof I had to do something to remedy this.

In the end my solution was to buy some felt and embroidery thread and make a hexagonal pad to attach them to.

Scraps from making hexagons

Here you can see the scraps that were left from two pieces of felt 9″ x 12″ in red and green plus the template I cut from an old birthday card.

I found some lovely shiny rayon embroidery thread in matching colours.

Red and green thread

I cut out two hexagons for each coaster, sewed the snowflake shape on one with invisible thread (Just to be sure it wouldn’t show) and then joined a second hexagon to the first with blanket stitch round the edge.

As you may have realised I am not very good at sewing but I was pleasantly surprised that the sewing wasn’t too bad.

Stitching on coaster

here is a closer view of the two designs.

A pair of coasters

My daughter was delighted with them.

 

10 thoughts on “Christmas Coasters

I'd love to hear from you

