Another Shrug – crochet this time

0247-originalfront

There is a brief pattern (UK & US versions) at the bottom of the post for anyone who might want to make one

After I finished the mohair shrug I liked the simplicity of the pattern and the shape of the garment so much that I started wondering if it would work in other sorts of yarn and after Jill from Nice piece of work and I exchanged comments about the possibilities of a crochet version. I just had to try.

This thought came together with the fact that last Autumn I started making a moebius cowl. It was (and still is) my intention to make a knitted one but until I felt able to get my head round that I thought I would try a crochet one. I had bought some 100% acrylic chunky yarn – James C. Brett ‘Marble Chunky’ in a colourway I have seen call ‘jeweltone’ or on the James C. Brett website more prosaically as MC8.

0185-marbleyarn

I devised a pattern, took a starting picture

0247-moebiuscowlstart

and had intended to share it with you except that in the end I didn’t think it was working. I had used a ripple that would fit together. I thought to add extra interest to how the colours blended but the resulting fabric was a bit stiff and when I had got about halfway through I was beginning to think that the moebius shape didn’t work very well either. So since then it has been sitting in my ‘Lucy’ bag waiting for a decision.

When I thought about the crochet version of the shrug I decided to undo the cowl and use that yarn – a double experiment.

I had bought two balls of 200 gm each and I thought it would be enough but in the event when I got about half-way through I realised I would need to make it a little smaller and cut two inches off the first part and one off the second part. I had just enough to finish it. Both balls did have a join or two in them and I hate having a join in the middle of a row so that didn’t help.

I have spent the last week away from home on a silent retreat at the Carmelite Priory at Boar’s Hill just outside Oxford. I have taken lots of pictures on my afternoon walks and I will sharing them with you on future Thursdays but today it is crochet.

I devised the simplest of crochet patterns to use for the shrug and thought it would be a gentle rhythmic accompaniment to meditative thought. And so it proved.

I had started a few rows before I went just to get me going but it proceeded well while I was there.

0247-crochetonbed

I also took my current socks as a rest from crochet and they are in the yellow bag in the corner!

I am not a quick crochetter but at 10 minutes a row for the first 22 inches (44 rows) and 20 minutes a row for the longer ones (14 rows) you can see that it only took about 12 hours (well except that I sometimes made mistakes and had to undo and redo.)

Here is the final crochet piece.

0247-finishedpiece

Long explanation for those that might be interested

Using the only large crochet hook I have that says ‘K’ and ‘3’ on it and I think is 6.5mm, I started with about eighty something chain so that I had more than enough and starting with the normal treble (US – dc) into the fourth chain from the hook went on till I had 75 treble equivalents, turned did the three chain to be the first treble then a treble into each of the next trebles until the end of the row where I did the last treble into the top of the three chain at the start. This gave me a piece about 24 to 26 inches wide.

It is worth noting that having read about this idea on – http://foreverinfibre.com/2014/06/29/crochet-unchained-sometimes-you-just-have-to-chain/ I worked into the back loop of the chains so as to give an edge that would look like the final edge at the end.

I worked into the trebles on the second row to give a firm edge but for the rest of the garment (except the final edge) I wanted to work between the trebles as I thought it would give a softer more flexible fabric.

I worried about the dangers with this sort of crochet of ending up either increasing or decreasing the number of trebles as you go along and looked on the internet to find the best way to deal with this. In the end I found a most excellent way which was to start with only two chain and use it with the treble into the first gap as a sort of 2trtog. You then work between all the other trebles until you come to the end when you work into the top of this 2trtog for the final stitch. (You have to work into the third chain of course on that first row.) This is really great as you don’t have to struggle to work into the third chain at the start of the previous row – as normal!

This gave a neat firm edge.

When I had completed the first twenty-two inches and wanted to get to the double width part, I kept the start and end of the row the same and worked two trebles into every other gap. This gave me a total to one hundred and forty-seven stitch stems to count. (Including the 2ch.)

I then worked another twelve rows as the first part of the garment, but on the final row I worked into each treble and 2trtog to give a firm edge and mirror the start.

*****     *****     *****     *****     *****

I then had two different style garments as before.

Conventional

0247-originalgarment

and alternative.

0247-newstylegarment

I haven’t taken as many photographs of myself wearing the shrug and I am not very happy with the picture quality but I decided if I got too fussy I would never get the post done so here they are. (Also it is very hot here in Britain and as I am intending this garment as something to wear over jumpers for the winter, it wasn’t much fun dressing up in warmer clothes to give the right look.)

Conventional worn,

0247-originalfrontalternative version (slight side view to give the line),0247-newsideviewalternative version back to show how the colours stripes look though you maybe get a better idea of the colours on the pictures of just the garment.

0247-newstyleback

So that is my latest venture in crochet and below are the promised patterns.

I always appreciate any comments on my patterns from people who have tried to use them.

UK pattern

Using yarn and a suitable size hook (I used chunky and a 6.5mm hook though I think 6mm might be more standard but then I do crochet on the tight side.)

Make a strip of crochet trebles that will give a finished piece about 24-26 inches (60 – 65cm) wide. (I used 75 trs.)

Ideally work into the back loop of the chains so as to give an edge that will look like the final edge at the end.

More about this here – http://foreverinfibre.com/2014/06/29/crochet-unchained-sometimes-you-just-have-to-chain/

Row 1: 3ch as first treble equivalent then a tr into each tr of the previous row with the final tr into the top of the 3ch at the start of previous row.

Row 2: 2ch, tr into first gap (as a 2trtog equivalent), tr into each gap between trs – final tr into the top of the 3ch at the start of previous row.

Row3: 2ch, tr into first gap (as a 2trtog equivalent), tr into each gap between trs – final tr into the top of the 2trtog at the start of previous row.

Repeat row 3 until you have a piece about 22 – 24 inches (55 – 60cm) long. (Mine was only 22 but I thought that worked well.)

Increase row: 2ch, tr into first gap (as a 2trtog equivalent), 2tr into each gap between trs – final tr into the top of the 2trtog at the start of previous row.

(This should give you 3 less stitches that twice what you started with.)

Repeat row 3 with the increased number of trs until you have almost 7-8 inches (17- 20cm).  (Mine was 7 inches as I thought that gave the sort of sleeve hole I liked.)

Last row: 3ch for first tr, then work tr into each tr and the 2trtog equivalent.

Fold over top to bottom then join sides up from bottom to end of wider section).

Ideally you just join the wider section to the bottom part but I joined more with the original mohair shrug as I wanted a smaller arm hole and adjusted the sizing for this one. So you can be flexible.

But if you start by working out what size arm hole would be best for your arms then you need to make the increased width part the difference between that and the length of the first part. However it’s quite a forgiving pattern.

US pattern

Using yarn and a suitable size hook (I used bulky and a K hook though I think J might be more standard but then I do crochet on the tight side.)

Make a strip of crochet dcs that will give a finished piece about 24-26 inches wide. (I used 75 dcs).

Ideally work into the back loop of the chains so as to give an edge that will look like the final edge at the end.

More about this here – http://foreverinfibre.com/2014/06/29/crochet-unchained-sometimes-you-just-have-to-chain/

Row 1: 3ch as first dc equivalent then a dc into each dc of the previous row with the final dc into the top of the 3ch at the start of previous row.

Row 2: 2ch, dc into first gap (as a 2dctog equivalent), dc into each gap between dcs – final dc into the top of the 3ch at the start of previous row.

Row3: 2ch, dc into first gap (as a 2dctog equivalent), dc into each gap between dcs – final dc into the top of the 2dctog at the start of previous row.

Repeat row 3 until you have a piece about 22 – 24 inches  long. (Mine was only 22 but I thought that worked well.)

Increase row: 2ch, dc into first gap (as a 2dctog equivalent), 2dc into each gap between dcs – final dc into the top of the 2dctog at the start of previous row.

(This should give you 3 less stitches that twice what you started with.)

Repeat row 3 with the increased number of dcs until you have almost 7-8 inches (Mine was 7 inches as I thought that gave the sort of sleeve hole I liked.)

Last row: 3ch for first dc, then work dc into each dc and the 2dctog equivalent.

Fold over top to bottom then join sides up from bottom to end of wider section).

Ideally you just join the wider section to the bottom part but I joined more with the original mohair shrug as I wanted a smaller arm hole and adjusted the sizing for this one. So you can be flexible.

But if you start by working out what size arm hole would be best for your arms then you need to make the increased width part the difference between that and the length of the first part. However it’s quite a forgiving pattern.

2 thoughts on “Another Shrug – crochet this time

  1. what a lovely shrug.. thank you for the details and also making it in US terms too.. wow.. that’s really marvelous.. i love how the shrug has flapped over the shoulder.. something which I’ve not done before.. 😉

    Like

    1. The shrug you made was folded over lengthwise and joined twice up the sides mine is folded over from top to bottom and joined each side. Of course with yours you get sleeves. I liked the shape of mine and the collar but yours is very pretty. Maybe next time I need a shrug!

      Like

I'd love to hear from you

