A simple supper & a tip

Here is a recipe for some baked stuffed mushrooms.

I will give you the ingredients as I made this for one but of course you can increase the quantities as a supper for more people or maybe as a starter.

You take four mushrooms. I have used the larger button style mushrooms but you could use the flat field mushrooms if you prefer.

0245-fourmushrooms

Wash or wipe and remove the stalks.

Then you take a quarter of a tub of ricotta cheese

1 desertspoon of green pesto

1 small clove of garlic (or to taste).

0245-ingredients

Chop the garlic and mix with the ricotta and garlic.

0245-ricotta&pesto

Then use this to fill the mushrooms.

0245-mushroomsfilled

I had an extra small mushroom so I decided to use that as well.

Grate 1/4 oz of parmesan cheese

0245-parmesan

and sprinkle over the filling.

0245-parmesanadded

Drizzle with a little olive oil.

0245-oiladded

As you can see I am not too good at drizzling.

Then cook for 20 minutes at 180 deg C (Fan oven) or similar temperature depending on your oven.

0245-mushroomscooked

My original recipe said to serve with chopped parsley and a little more pesto but I don’t bother.

To complete the meal I added a slice of my latest half & half artisan bread.

0245-sliceofbread

And a salad.

I had a carrot and raison salad this time

0245-carrotsalad

But a rocket, cucumber and celery salad would also be suitable though maybe less colourful.

0245-rocketsalad

Now for the ‘Tip’

I used to have a problem with pesto because I couldn’t store it in the fridge for very long without it going mouldy on top so this is what I do now.

I put the rest of the jar of pesto into the divisions in an ice cube tray.

0245-pestointray

Pop it into the freezer for a few hours. Remove when frozen

0245-pestofrozen

and then remove from tray.

0245-pestoblocks

I did find I needed a blunt knife to help remove the chunks.

I put the chunks in a freezer bag, then back in the freezer.

0245-pestobagged

So I can take out how much I need over the next few weeks and no more mould.

Published by

Rainbow Junkie

I am a retired mother of three and grandmother of five. I mostly knit and crochet while I watch television. I also love cooking and have dabbled in various other crafty things. I am crazy about: Rainbows, Butterflies, Flowers, Bees, Honey, Hexagons, Snowflakes, Symmetry, Mathematics and Dragons

19 thoughts on “A simple supper & a tip”

  1. Thank you for the delicious recipe. 😊 Did you make your half and half artisan bread? It’s time for me to return to baking bread.

    Like

      1. I agree about making bread the ‘artisan’ way. I put my bread maker in the loft in 2011.
        Reading your blog has inspired me to knit a pair of socks. πŸ˜€ I’ve knitted baby bootees and Xmas stockings before but never real socks. Do you prefer 15cm double pointed needles or 20cm for sock knitting? Thanks again.

        Like

I'd love to hear from you

