Fake flowers!

I said at the beginning of the year that I was intending to make some knitted and crochet flowers to adorn my home.

Well I have made a start with two roses and a rose bud which I made from some of the yarn left over from the cottage garden blanket.

0229-3invase

Maybe I should have taken more pictures along the way but the roses consist of six knitted petals: two each of three different sizes which differ by just a couple of rows of stocking stitch.

As you can see here

0229-rose1 and here is a side view of the other rose.

0229-rose2

That was easy enough

and the stem was a 3 stitch cord, which I found straightforward once I got into the rhythm of it

but the sepals for the rose meant transferring the three stitches onto three double-pointed needles and then working in the round doing things like kpk into each stitch.

For the first rose I managed, just about, though with difficulty. With the second rose I was dropping the stitches off the needles so much that I gave up and used a long circular though it was still difficult.

0229-rosesepals

The bud was much easier.

0229-bud

The petals were knitted in one flat piece and the the sepals, though a bit trickier, were done in the same way; with the stem cord knitted as the last part. This was much easier than the roses.

0229-budsepals

I also bought some flower wire from Hobbycraft

0229-flowerwire

which I used to stiffen the stems.

I won’t say they are perfect but they look pretty on the mantlepiece.

20 thoughts on “Fake flowers!

  1. Pingback: woolhogs
  2. cute, on facebook there is a crochet artist who specializes in flowers i don’t have the link right now but if you go to my facebook page you will see some of her creations 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear from you

