Extra projects and a repair

Since I made my list of projects for this year I have added two new ones! 🙂

Both are for things I have been requested to make.

The first that I started is here.

0224-rainbowcowl

This is for someone who saw me wearing the (well people seem to call it a cowl) – seen on the left in the picture below – that I made a few years ago (Post HERE)

The new and the old
The new and the old

and asked if I could make her one. She said that she liked ‘colourful!’ so I chose some similar yarn to that I used before but in a different colourway.

You may notice that the first part turned out rather differently to the later part. I can only imagine this is a change in the way the yarn was coloured as it is simply a tube. Luckily that part will be under the coat or jacket or I could roll that part up instead of the end. (I have to make 30ins altogether).

In order that it doesn’t delay me too much on my other projects, I am trying to knit it on the bus and other in-between times.

Interestingly, I remember when I made my Buff® – HERE that after the first few inches I found it a bit boring to go on round after round for, in that case, just a total of 18ins. I am not finding that this time and I think that that is largely because I am enjoying the colours so much. (The Buff® was made in shades of brown and white.)

The second item I have made for someone else, is because I remembered that my dishcloth had been approved of as being good for cleaning surfaces over Christmas and the person concerned had said they would like one.

0149-new-discloth

As it does not take long to make a dishcloth I made them one but this time I used a different pattern in the hopes that this dishcloth would be as good at cleaning but would be easier to wring out and quicker to dry than the previous one.

0224-dishcloth

It is simply a row of chains then trebles (US – dcs) into each stitch and on subsequent rows trebles worked into the spaces between the stitches on the previous row. I used a fairly large hook to make it looser.

I noticed that when I did a Google search that there are an amazing number of different and some very pretty dishcloths out there but very few are loose and holey.

And repair!

Well I should have taken a picture of the hole, but much to my regret I found that one of  my beaded slippers had developed a hole underneath the toe part. Luckily I had some of the yarn left and I realised that if I undid back to just before the hole, I could re-knit from there to the toe.

Here is a picture showing where the hole was.

0224-withhole

You can see that most of the non-slip spots I had put on the underside have either come off or been removed by me because they were too bumpy. Next time I know, if I use that method, that I need to open the bottle and use it just once. Which has made me look for other solutions.

Since I didn’t want to end up taking the whole thing apart, I found myself using the circular needles ‘magic loop’ method but knitting back and forth, to knit something that had originally been knitted on straight needles.

0224-knittingslipper

I was able to rescue some of the original yarn. Here you can see the scraps and the ball of useable yarn I had after undoing to below the hole.

0224-yarn

I am trying out a cheap idea for reinforcing the sole of the slippers. I had some thick dishcloth cotton that I thought was too thick for dishcloths, so I crochetted a simple sole and here it is tacked to the bottom of the other slipper. I am still thinking about the best way to sew it on.

0224-crochetsole

9 thoughts on “Extra projects and a repair

  1. Love the colors in the cowl. What do you call them? The washcloth is pretty, too; I like making different washcloths for people. Congrats on fixing your slipper and good luck finding a suitable sole for them.

    Like

    1. The first time I made a dish cloth I Bought some ‘dishcloth yarn’ that was nominal ‘double knitting’ (US – worsted weight). Not sure what they call it in your part of the world. But it was thicker than I would expect ‘double knitting’ to be. (It is what I used for the sole.) I then bought the yarn you can see in the picture with the earlier dishcloth; this was a bit thinner though probably still nominally ‘double knitting’; it was called ‘craft cotton’. What you want is something that is basic cotton and cheap in my opinion. You could use any cotton yarn though but the sort with a matt surface is probably more absorbent.

      Like

I'd love to hear from you

