Peachy pudding

I have not quite got used to only posting once a week and I have this recipe to share with you. So here it is.

This isn’t my favourite peach pudding (which I may share with you one day) but it is appropriate to this time of the year.

Stuffed Mincemeat Peaches

You need a casserole dish with a lid.

0221-casserole

Tinned peach halves – I like to prepare two halves per person or three maybe if I have hungry guests.

0221-peachhalves

Some mincemeat (this is the last of last years homemade mincemeat so it is a bit surgary but it cooks okay šŸ™‚Ā  )

0221-somemincemeat

And some red wine – you don’t need much and any sort will do.

0221-wine

You place the peach halves in a dish, cut side uppermost, and add a generous spoonful of mincemeat to each one. ( I was making these for myself and my son on Sunday.)

0221-mincemeatinpeaches

Pour a little red wine over each peach half

0221-addwine

Cover the dish and cook for 20 minutes in a hot oven. I have a fan oven and I cooked mine at 190 deg C. (That is about 375 deg F but I would use 400 deg F in a conventional oven)

However timing and temperature are not too critical.

Here they are as they came out of the oven.

0221-cooked

They taste good served plain or maybe with some cream. The cream does cool them down a lot though. (My son complained – well maybe he should have taken less cream. šŸ˜‰ )

12 thoughts on “Peachy pudding

    1. As a historical note: the sort of fruity ‘mincemeat’ that is made at Christmas did originally contain minced up meat as well as the dried fruit and all that is left of that now in the recipe is suet and there are vegetarian alternatives to that – butter or vegetarian suet.

      Like

I'd love to hear from you

