My Spanish pilgrimage

Last week I was away in Spain on a pilgrimage. Not the one you might expect, to Compostella but one in the Footsteps of Teresa of Avila and St John of the Cross.

I thought I would share a few of the photographs I took while I was there.

The first five night were spent in Avila: a beautiful walled city where Teresa was born and spent a large part of her life.

0191-citycloser

Here is a view of one of the city gates from the outside.

0191-citygate

When I booked, over a year ago, there were no single rooms left but my friend and I had a lovely large room in Avila.

0191-avilaroom

Here is a view from the balcony.

0191-viewfromroom

One afternoon we had a little time to walk round some of the walls and I took these photographs.

A view along the walls.

0191-onthewallsA view from the wall.

0191-viewonwall

A view outside the walls.

0191-viewfromwall

And I even tried my hand at a black and white photograph of this fountain below the walls.

0191-fountainb&w

I was very fond of this fountain and took lots of pictures.

This is my favourite.

0191-fountain

And here is a very spanish looking courtyard we found when returning to the hotel.

0191-courtyard

These stone animals were all over the place. Aparently they are very, very old.

0191-prehistoricanimal

Reminded me a little of the rhinos that I showed you earlier.

0164-3-Bunty

On Wednesday we went to Alba de Tormes. I was very struck by the storks’ nests high up on buildings.

0191-storksnestsalba

As well as Avila we spent a little time in Segovia, famous for the aquaduct.

0191-sergoviaaquaduct

Like Avila it had narrow streets

0191-streets

and this sphinx which I hadn’t expected.

0191-sphinx

As well as religious sites we went to see the alcazar which was like a huge fairytale castle.

0191-alcazar

While in Sergovia we were also priviledged to see some embroidery made by St Teresa herself.

0191-embroidery

0191-embroidery2

It did seem appropriate to include these.

*****     *****     *****     *****     *****

The last two nights were spent in Toledo.

(A smaller room this time but quite adequate, though being at the front of the hotel it was noisy.)

Here is a view from the balcony the first evening.

0191-toledofrombalcony

Of course being a pilgrimage we went to many convents and churches and saw many baroque altarpieces.

This one in Toledo is fairly typical.

0191-tbaroquealtar

I am not especially fond of baroque so in fact I much prefered this one.

0191-segaltar

In Toledo as well as going to the cathedral, where photography was not allowed, we went and saw a reconstruction of El Greco’s house.

My eye was caught by this fountain in the garden.

0191-elgrecofountain

The house was used as a museum containing some of his paintings and copies of others.

Here is his picture of Christ

0191-elgrecochrist

It was interesting to note that none of the copies managed to captured that sense of inner luminescence of the draperies that El Greco achieved.

*****     *****     *****     *****     *****

Up to now I haven’t put in too many explicitly religious images but I am going to end with a few of my favourite statues.

Here is one of St Teresa

0191-stteresa

St John

0191-stjohn

and Our Lady of Mount Carmel.

0191-olrladycarmelclose

And lastly a tile I found on a wall in Toledo that I just had to photograph because of my love of dragons. Can you see it?

0191-dragontile

And here is a pendant that I bought in Toledo as a memento of the pilgrimage.

0191-damascene

Published by

Rainbow Junkie

I am a retired mother of three and grandmother of five. I mostly knit and crochet while I watch television. I also love cooking and have dabbled in various other crafty things. I am crazy about: Rainbows, Butterflies, Flowers, Bees, Honey, Hexagons, Snowflakes, Symmetry, Mathematics and Dragons

11 thoughts on “My Spanish pilgrimage”

  1. lovely photo’s, my husband has often said we should visit Spain, but I’ve never been keen, having seen your photo’s I’m beginning to change my mind, what a wonderful place to visit. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  2. Wow, this really looks amazing, your photos are stunning. I’ve never been to Spain, would love to visit. And just an aside, the school I went to was St. Teresa’s Convent, in Johannesburg, run by the Sisters of Mercy.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you

