CAL: not quite forgotten!

Ever since I decided how I wanted to join the squares for the CAL (HERE) last January, I had intended to crochet round the edge of each of the finished blocks with the ‘camel’ yarn in readiness for the joining.

But although I did manage to edge a few blocks the vast majority remained unedged, especially as time went on and I found it was all I could do to keep up with everyone else. So these last few weeks I have been busy trying to edge all the blocks.

I now have two shoe boxes full of edged blocks.

One containing all the blocks worked in rounds, ordered in the original numbered bags.0171-roundblocks

These were the ones I edged first as I thought they would be easier.

And another shoe box containing the blocks worked in rows, ordered by type.

0171-rowblocks

My plan for the blanket is that it should comprise thirteen rows of nine blocks each. Since this involves only using 117 blocks and we have made 128, I will have to leave out eleven blocks.

I decided to reject these eight blocks out of hand for various reasons.
0171-rejected
The granny stripe one mainly because I realised that it doesn’t contain the right number of stitches and so I would need to re-do it. (Though looking back now, I realise that at the time I did this deliberately, but never mind I can change my mind later if I want to.)

I will have to find another three to omit in due course.

I actually found that edging the blocks with the same number of dcs on each side actually seemed to help to equalise their sizes, so maybe I won’t have to do too much ‘blocking’. 🙂

20 thoughts on “CAL: not quite forgotten!

    1. Well I opted for 29 each side and then in the corners I did (dc, 2ch, dc). This is equivalent to 33 from corner to corner, since you need an odd number. I did (dc, 2ch, dc) rather than 3dc because I didn’t trust myself to recognise the central bit of the corner otherwise. :-).

      Like

I'd love to hear from you

