Liver and Juniper berries

I realise that I haven’t shared a recipe with you for a while, so here is a favourite recipe of mine “Liver and Juniper berries”.

My son-in-law who has never liked liver enjoys this.

He told me that he didn’t eat liver because he had heard that polar bear liver was so full of vitamin A that it was poisonous, and how could you be sure that it wasn’t polar bear liver? πŸ˜‰

In view of the recent horse meat scandal maybe he had a point, but he accepted my reassurances and tried this.

My photographs are based on me making a one helping’s worth for myself but I will give the ingredients as for four people.

You need to gather together the following.

0119-ingredients

The above picture shows about 5oz liver which I was using for me.

The ingredients for four people are as follows:-

  • 1lb lambs liver – cut into very thin strips
  • 1 large onion – sliced thinly and separated
  • 1 clove of garlic – crushed
  • 1oz butter
  • 1 tablespoon oil
  • 1 heaped teaspooon juniper berries – crushed
  • 1/4 pint natural yogurt

0119-ingredientsready

The above picture shows the liver and the onion, garlic and juniper berries as prepared for my meal.

Method

Put the butter and oil in a large frying pan. I used olive oil but any cooking oil will do.

Once the oil and butter is hot add the onion, garlic and juniper berries and cook gently without browning for about ten minutes.

0119-fryonions

Then turn the heat up high and add the pieces of liver and brown quickly, turning to cook evenly. Be careful not to over-cook.

0119-liveradded

As soon as they are browned, turn the heat right down and add the yogurt, stirring well to combine all the ingredients.

0119-yogurtadded

Simmer very gently for about five minutes.

Finally season with salt and freshly ground black pepper.

And you have:-

0119-onehelping
One helping

The original recipe, that my mother cut out of a newspaper recipe page, suggests serving it with rice and a side salad. I normally serve it with rice but often add a green vegetable, such as brussel sprouts or brocolli.

I hope you like this recipe. Do you have any interesting ways of cooking liver?

7 thoughts on “Liver and Juniper berries

  1. I used to eat liver, I need to try it again, this recipe looks yummy :-)…. I have heard about the horse meat but I believe it should be fine, they only eat grass and are organic LOL!!!!

    Like

          1. This is becoming a long conversation. πŸ™‚ Veggies and fruits are good for you and cooking destroys some things but did you know that you get more goodness from cooked carrots than raw ones!!! So you never know.

            Like

I'd love to hear from you

