CAL 73-75 Trebles, trebles all the way!

0117-73-75

These days, I am concentrating more on choosing pleasing colour combinations than trying to think ‘flowers’ all the time, in order to increase the variety in the blanket.

Square No. 73

0117-73

I think this is a pretty square. Relatively quick to make because of using trebles (UK). I did still use yellow for the middle, so maybe I haven’t totally given up thinking ‘flowers. 🙂

Square No. 74

0117-74

I wasn’t sure which colour to choose for this one and I don’t know if I have made the best choice. Again it was fairly quick with the trebles (UK) and hence less rows.

I thought that the way you did three rows with loops of chains and then joined them all together on the fourth row was interesting and gave a pretty effect.

As with the previous square, and some others, I like the rows of square holes that come from trebles (UK) with gaps between.

Square No. 75

0117-75

Although the previous squares had turned out about the normal size, the first time I attempted this, after about four rows I realised that it was over 7″ wide instead of 6″ or below. I don’t know why it is that my double crochets tend to be tighter than Jan Eaton’s but my trebles are naturally much looser.

So I decided the only thing for it was to change to a smaller hook (3.5mm) and make sure I did the stitches firmly.

The square thus formed is about my standard width but it does seem  to be only about 5″ high so I hope it will stretch to fit (as so many squares will have to do) in the final blanket.

14 thoughts on “CAL 73-75 Trebles, trebles all the way!

I'd love to hear from you

