Snowflake wreath

As I promised on Thursday here is the item for which I made the snowflakes and the angel:-

And this is how I made it.

I was going to buy one of those polystyrene rings that you can buy in craft shops but then a few days ago I found an odd piece of pipe insulation lying on the edge of my property and decided that it would make an excellent basis for the wreath. The circumference of the pipe insulation was 10 cm so I bought 20cm of royal blue felt and cut a long piece of elastic.

I threaded the elastic through the piece of pipe insulation and tied it firmly, then added a short piece of dowel,  to keep the ends aligned and wound round a piece of sticky tape to hold the ends together while I covered it with the felt.

I cut an 11cm strip off the felt and tacked the ends together so I could check that it fitted snuggly round the ring. (I actually placed the join towards the bottom of the final wreath at about a ‘four o’clock’ position so there would be no strain on it, with the seam at the top to be covered up when it was suspended.)

Then I stitched and trimmed the seam and fitted and pinned the felt round the ring

before sewing it together at the back with some invisible thread that I had bought for the purpose.

You can see from my stitches why I don’t do this sort of thing very often.

I then made some more silver snowflakes and three with some #20 white crochet cotton that I had.

I felt that the wreath needed something to wind round it and toyed with a few ideas but ended up crocheting a long chain using both the silver thread and #20 crochet cotton.

I wound it round the ring and tied the ends together at the bottom in a bow.

Finally, I sewed on the snowflakes, again using the invisible thread, and suspended the angel in the centre.

Have you been making any new decorations this year?

14 thoughts on “Snowflake wreath

  1. Beautiful, Jane!!! I am especially impressed at how neatly you made the actual wreath – sewing felt on to a circle is not an easy task. Well done, the overall effect is fantastic!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you

