Homemade Muesli

“Here is one I prepared earlier!”

Since my granddaughter is here this week, I put this post together last week.

I thought that I would share with you my recipe for Muesli. It is what I have for breakfast on weekdays.

The recipe in its proportions owes something to this book that I bought many years ago.

I bought it not to go on a slimming diet but because I was interested in the charts showing the amount of fibre in different foods as I wanted to increase the amount that I ate.

The book contains a high fibre recipe for breakfast that it says contains 15g fibre and 200 calories.

So I decided to make it for breakfast.

At first I did what they said and weighed out each portion separately but later I decided that this was too much hassle and made it in batches.

Later still when I was less worried about fibre in my diet I decided that I would move away from wheat bran and try a mixture of grains and also a greater variety of dried fruit and nuts.

So the only similarity between the recipe in this book and mine is the proportion of sultanas and the inclusion of almonds.

[My muesli, by my calculation, is about 8g fibre and 260 calories without milk.]

I believe that in the US sultanas are called raisins though in the UK raisins come from a red grape and sultanas come from a white grape. I prefer white grape sultanas to the richer flavoured red grape raisins for this recipe.

I normally make a batch that is a nominal 16 helpings in size but for the ease of photography the recipe below will only make 8 helpings. The plate is the same in all the pictures.

So what do you need?

You mix together

Grains

  • 4oz (110g) oats – I like the larger old fashioned ones.
  • 4oz (110g) rye flakes.
  • 4oz (110g) barley flakes.

Dried Fruit

  • 4oz (110g) sultanas.
  • 2oz (55g) dried apricots. (I used to use 1oz apricots and 1oz prunes but I went off the prunes.)
  • 1oz (25g) dates. (Yes I know half of 55 is 27.5 but at this level you rarely get an exact weight of whole dates or figs and 25 looks neater.)
  • 1oz (25g) dried figs.

I cut up the dates, apricots and figs with a pair of kitchen scissors.

Nuts

  • 1oz (25g) flaked almonds.
  • 1oz (25g) walnut pieces.

Mix them all together and you get your muesli.

I sometimes add to the above a couple of ounces (55g) of ground up linseeds for the added health benefits.

Yes this is a trick picture.

Before and after grinding

Serving

In volume a serving would be around about ½ an UK cup and about 2/3 of a US cup.

I normally serve the muesli with some cold milk but I sometimes add some natural yogurt or use hot water followed by some yogurt in the winter.

And as a special treat (I love them!) and because they are good for you, since they contain selenium that is lacking apparently in European diets, I add 3 or 4 brazil nuts – depending on their size.

4 thoughts on “Homemade Muesli

  1. Brazil nuts are supposedly one of nature’s “miracle” foods. Apparently 5 a day are good for you.
    Linseeds – I have a teaspoonful every morning. I don’t grind them, just chew a bit before swallowing 🙂 Supposed to be good as an anti-Alzheimer’s agent. Let’s hope.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you

