A Pig, a Pattern and a Party

I decided last Wednesday that as I would be seeing my granddaughter on my birthday, I ought to take a little gift and decided to crochet her a small animal and a pig looked easiest.

I had a couple of patterns but I was afraid they would be too big and so after getting a couple of pointers from them about shaping the snout, I sat down with some yarn and a hook to work up my own pattern.

And Lo! a Pocket Pig

The pattern is HERE

I wasn’t sure how she felt about pigs but luckily she loved him.

Saturday was my birthday. I hadn’t intended to show you my presents but they were so typical of each giver that I thought I would

My younger daughter, who wasn’t able to be part of the Party because her husband is still unwell, gave me a cotton bag with a picture of a duck – she verges on being a vegetarian and loves animals and knowing the meal was to be duck I think this was her comment on the matter. She doesn’t like jigsaws, but her husband does and she knows I love them, so I also got a jigsaw – no picture – so I won’t know what it is till I finish it! Since I took the photo I have however put the white pieces together and I think it might be a duck too with it’s head under the water.

My son likes techie presents so he got me a black Wii wheel as he felt that with a black remote a white wheel looked wrong. He went to all the trouble of ordering it from the States as you can’t buy them in the UK at present. He also got me a nun-chuck, as I have two remotes but only one nun-chuck. He made the card himself, the picture having been originally created on his Nintendo 3DS.

My older daughter bought me some unusual chocolate and special herb tea but mainly two pairs of rosewood knitting needles and five balls of Sirdar big softie super chunky yarn as with my blog she thought I ought to have something knitting related.

For the curious this enlarges so you can get a closer look

I have never knitted with yarn this thick so I will need to find a pattern.

Now to the Party

My older daughter has lived in Aylesbury for about the last ten years and of course every time I tell someone that she lives in Aylesbury they always reply “Where the ducks come from!” (UK joke). The ducks for sale in the supermarket however are not Aylesbury ducks  but a Chinese breed, I believe, so I rather hankered after one day tasting a real Aylesbury duck as they were reputed to be rather fine.

Having watched a TV programme that reported on a current breeder of Aylesbury ducks and the fact that there were several restaurants that served them. I suggested to my daughter that we should get together a family party and have some Aylesbury duck in Aylesbury on my forthcoming birthday.

In the end we decided to go to the King’s Head Hotel in Ivinghoe a few miles from Aylesbury as they had a very good reputation.

We had a wonderful meal and I had a wonderful day.

I just took a few photos when I thought of it, in between enjoying myself, but I think they are good enough to share.

When we first arrived at the King’s Head we had a few drinks and nibbles.

Then we went in to the dining room and a beautifully laid table.

And this balloon, which is now floating in my bedroom (hence photo), floating behind my chair.

I had the fish soup for my first course and it was the most delicious soup I have ever tasted.

They then brought us an apple and calvados sorbet

and after that they brought the ducks and carved them at the table

And here is my plate with accompaniments. The vegetables were on a separate plate.

We each chose something from the dessert trolley to finish the meal.

Lots of choice. Between us we had raspberry pavlova, sherry trifle, huge brandy snap filled with cream, caramel soufflé, lemon tart. I also remember seeing strawberries and a chocolate mousse on the trolley.

None of us had cheese but they had a whole trolley full of different cheeses.

We then went into the garden for coffee.

Here is a family group photo. The zany one is my son. Can you see the pig?

After this we went back to Aylesbury and later had tea and a special cake. The candles are meant to be like that and give away my age if you can read the code.

In my son-in law’s family birthday cakes are always Battenburgs and so that is what he made me.

And just to end up: a little girl with her birthday present from her grandma.

12 thoughts on “A Pig, a Pattern and a Party

  1. Well belated Happy Birthday wishes to you and it certainly looks like you had a fabulous one at that. Lovely presents, delicious meal and fine family for company. Thank you for sharing via some super pictures 😀

    Like

  2. What a beautiful post! HAPPY BIRTHDAY, you clearly had a wonderful time and to be spoilt by family is oh so good too. Love your pressies, little piggy and the cake looked divine. Funny, when I hear Aylesbury I think of ice cream! Now that you have new yarn, you can make something and enter our challenge wink wink 😉 http://www.inlinkz.com/wpview.php?id=167823 Come on, you have to enter!

    ps, your granddaughter is adorable x

    Like

    1. Well I was intending to enter. What I had in mind was different and I am not sure what to make with the yarn. 5 balls suggest hat and scarf but I haven’t found/thought of a pattern that I would like.

      Like

      1. Hat and scarf sound perfect! I am also looking for a good pattern as I seem to never made anything substantial (that would be substantial for me!!) I am always doing little things. I am busy with my entry and I keep thinking of you – you will know why when you see them!!!

        Like

  3. My sister loved the Welsh Dragon and as I predicted she immediately sent the patterns over to her Welsh, very-good-at-knitting, mother-in-law who also fell in love with it and is making it for my little niece!!! Thank you :o)

    Like

I'd love to hear from you

