A Christmas angel and other stories

In my first post I talked about knitting a Christmas Crib from a book by Jean Greenhowe.

Well there were two things that I felt the crib lacked: an angel and a star and so when I had finished the rest of the crib I set out to make both an angel and a star.

The star was just a stellated dodecahedron knitted in pale yellow – a cut down version of the pattern I found HERE.
It was a terrible struggle and I wouldn’t say I had done it very well but it serves.

The angel I was quite pleased with and the reason I am creating this post is because I went to a local Knit and Natter / Stitch ‘n Bitch type group on Friday and got talking to someone who is in the middle of making Jean Greenhowe’s crib at present and I told her about my angel and as she was interested I said that I would write up the pattern.

Now I admit the pattern isn’t any good if you haven’t bought Jean Greenhowe’s book as I just give the details of how I chose to embellish the standard figure she had created. However, in case anyone might be thinking of making the crib and wanted to add an angel, I include it here.

As it is a bit long I am adding it as an extra page – HERE.

***************************

Now for what I meant to post earlier in the week before I decided to write about my trip to Exbury gardens instead.

***************************

Verstile Blogger – update

I was also nominated for this by Maryanne of Woolhogs

So very many thanks to Maryanne. Since the nominations were so close together I don’t think I can repeat the whole thing but I have discovered four more blogs to recommend so as to bring my tally up to fifteen overall.

These are also all creative, crafty people.

The Little Room of Rachell

SophiesHats

crafts by the sea

CrazyCrochetMama

I discovered these blogs because I had a good look after they started following mine, so please can I ask all of them to regard this as notification of their nomination and to refer to my earlier post as to the ‘rules’ of the award and to respond as they see fit.

I know there are many other worthwhile blogs out there, covering a great variety of subjects, so the fact that I have restricted my choice to crafty, creative ones, should not be taken as any denigration of all the others.

4 thoughts on “A Christmas angel and other stories

  1. Hi, I’m knitting the Jean Greenhowe crib at the moment. It’s my second time doing it. The first was about 15 years ago and it turned out very well. I don’t remember there being any issues but I may have knit it on 4mm needles, rather than 3mm as recommended. This time around though, I’m doing it on 3mm and some figures are turning out way smaller than others. I have just finished knitting Mary tonight and she is tiny! I wouldn’t mind if the whole thing was to scale but it’s not. The cloaks are turning out far too big, for example. They seem to be the same size as those from the first crib, whereas the figures (well, I’ve only knit one wise man so far!) are quite a bit smaller. I’m a consistently neat, rather tight-ish knitter and stick rigidly to the pattern so I don’t think that is the issue. Has anyone else had this problem?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My completed set is here – https://rainbowjunkiecorner.wordpress.com/2012/05/12/a-christmas-angel-and-other-stories/ My Mary is smaller but then she is female and sitting down so seemed okay to me. Getting the figures stuffed with just the right amount of stuffing I found tricky but there is advice in the pattern. Could that be the problem. If you knit tightly you might need to check what is the best needle to use for the right tension.

      Like

I'd love to hear from you

